Delhi Capitals, formerly known as Delhi Daredevils, is a franchise cricket team in the Indian Premier League based in Delhi. The ownership of the team is divided between the GMR Group and the JSW Group. Their home ground is the Arun Jaitley Stadium, previously known as Feroz Shah Kotla, located in New Delhi. The team is coached by Ricky Ponting. In the 2020 season, the Capitals made their first appearance in the IPL championship game against the Mumbai Indians.

History of Delhi Capitals

The Delhi Daredevils rebranded as the Delhi Capitals in 2008. Virender Sehwag led the team, while Greg Shipperd was the coach in its early years. Despite having a promising squad, the Daredevils had a tough start to the Indian Premier League (IPL) and failed to progress beyond the semifinals in 2008 and 2009.

In 2012, the Daredevils topped the league stage, only to be knocked out in the semifinals by the Kolkata Knight Riders. The team struggled to make it to the playoffs in the following years. Gautam Gambhir became the captain in 2018 but resigned after just six games due to poor performance, and the team finished last in the league.

The Delhi Daredevils changed their name to the Delhi Capitals in 2019, with Shreyas Iyer taking over as captain. The team made it to the playoffs for the first time in seven years but lost to the Chennai Super Kings in the semifinals. In 2020, the Delhi Capitals reached their first-ever IPL final but lost to the Mumbai Indians.

Delhi Capitals

Delhi Capital’s Team Records in Indian Premier League (IPL)

YearLeague table standingFinal standing
20084th out of 8Semi-finalists
20091st out of 8Semi-finalists
20105th out of 8League stage
201110th out of 10League stage
20121st out of 9Playoffs
20139th out of 9League stage
20148th out of 8League stage
20157th out of 8League stage
20166th out of 8League stage
20176th out of 8League stage
20188th out of 8League stage
20193rd out of 8Playoffs
20202nd out of 8Runners up
20211st out of 8Playoffs
20225th out of 10League stage

IPL 2023 Delhi Capital’s Indian Players List

Rishabh Pant (c)Batsman-wicket keeperINR 16 crores
Prithvi ShawBatsmanINR 7.50 crores
Axar PatelBowlerINR 9 crores
Khaleel AhmedBowlerINR 5.25 crores
Chetan SakariyaBowlerINR 4.20 crores
Kuldeep YadavBowlerINR 2 crores
Kamlesh NagarkotiBowlerINR 1.20 crores
Ishant SharmaBowlerINR 50 lakhs
Vicky OstwalBowlerINR 20 Lakh
Sarfaraz KhanBatsmanINR 20 Lakh
Lalit YadavAll-rounderINR 65 Lakhs
Yash DhullBatsmanINR 50 Lakh
Pravin DubeyBowlerINR 50 lakhs
Ripal PatelBatsmanINR 20 Lakh
Aman Khan (Traded)BatsmanINR 20 Lakh
Manish PandeyBatsmanINR 2.40 crores
Mukesh KumarBowlerINR 5.5 crores

Delhi Capital’s Theme Song

The Delhi Capitals have a variety of theme songs associated with their team. The anthem of the team is “Play on the front foot,” which is a call to play aggressively, and was composed by Kailash Kher, a popular Bollywood playback singer.

In 2012, the Delhi Daredevils released a new song called “Munday Dilli Ke,” which was performed by Jaspreet Jasz and written by Arijit Datta and Micu Patel.

During the 2016 season, Sukhwinder Singh’s version of “Dhuandaar Dilli,” their official IPL song, was shared on YouTube. A new theme song titled “Dil Dilli hai, ab Dhadkega” was released by the team in 2018.

Delhi Capitals’ Captain David Warner

David Warner, one of the most dynamic and aggressive batsmen in the cricket world, has once again been in top form in the 2023 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL), leading the Delhi Capitals as their captain in the absence of Rishabh Pant. The left-handed Australian opener has been a key figure in the Capitals’ campaign, with his consistent performances at the top of the order playing a vital role in the team’s success so far in the tournament.

Warner has been in outstanding form with the bat, scoring three half-centuries in the first six matches of the season, with a total of 279 runs at an average of 46.50 and a strike rate of 147.36. He has played some match-winning innings for the Capitals, including a brilliant 93 not out off 60 balls against the Chennai Super Kings, which helped his team chase down a challenging target of 189 runs with ease.

Delhi Capital’s Captain David Warner in IPL 2023

David Warner’s Journey to the Delhi Capitals

Warner’s journey to the Delhi Capitals began in 2014 when he was bought by the Sunrisers Hyderabad for INR 5.5 crore. He played for the Hyderabad-based franchise for seven seasons, leading them to their maiden IPL title in 2016 and being a key figure in their batting lineup for several years.

In 2021, however, Warner was released by the Sunrisers Hyderabad and picked up by the Delhi Capitals in the IPL auction for INR 5 crore. The Capitals, who were looking for an experienced opener to partner with Prithvi Shaw at the top of the order, saw Warner as the ideal candidate to fill that role.