One of the oldest and most prestigious cricket clubs in England is Nottinghamshire County Cricket Club, also known as Notts. The club was founded in 1841 and is located in Nottinghamshire, an English county in the East Midlands. Nottinghamshire has made major contributions over the years to the rich fabric of English cricket, developing brilliant players and enjoying outstanding success in both local and international events. The history, accomplishments, famous players, and current situation of Nottinghamshire County Cricket Club are all covered in this page.

Historical Context:

The history of cricket in Nottinghamshire dates back to the latter half of the 18th century, as England began to take an interest in the sport. The Nottinghamshire County Cricket Club was formally established in 1841, nevertheless. In the same year, the club faced off against Sheffield Cricket Club in its inaugural game. In 1890, Nottinghamshire joined the original twelve counties that made up the official County Championship.


The county of Nottinghamshire has had a lot of success over the years. Six times had the club won the County Championship, with victories coming in 1907, 1929, 1981, 1987, 2005, and 2010. They have additionally finished second eight times. Nottinghamshire has won the One-Day Cup (formerly known as the Gillette Cup or NatWest Trophy) on five occasions in addition to their domestic triumphs.

Notable Participants:

Numerous outstanding cricketers have called Nottinghamshire County Cricket Club their home. From 1968 to 1981, Sir Garfield Sobers, one of the finest all-rounders in the history of the sport, represented Nottinghamshire. Richard Hadlee, a New Zealand fast-bowling star who represented Nottinghamshire from 1978 to 1990, is another great figure connected to the club. At various points in their careers, England internationals Stuart Broad, Graeme Swann, and James Anderson have also been linked to Nottinghamshire.

Home Field and Facilities:

Trent Bridge, near West Bridgford, Nottingham, is the home field for Nottinghamshire. One of the most recognisable cricket stadiums in the world, Trent Bridge has played host to a number of memorable games, including international contests. The surface has a capacity of around 17,500 spectators and offers excellent facilities for players, officials, and supporters

Current Situation and Prospects:

The Nottinghamshire County Cricket Club has recently continued to be a strong force in domestic cricket in England. In order to train the next generation of cricketers, the club has continued to create excellent players and made investments in expanding its youth programme. The group plays in the County Championship, One-Day Cup, and T20 Blast tournaments.


The rich history, outstanding accomplishments, and affiliation with renowned players of Nottinghamshire County Cricket Club have cemented its status as a leading cricketing institution in England. The club is a prized component of English cricket due to its accomplishments in domestic events and contributions to the national squad. Nottinghamshire County Cricket Club continues to motivate and enthral cricket fans with its illustrious history and bright future.


Nottinghamshire squad
Jake BallMansfield, 14/03/1991RHB RM
Stuart BroadNottingham, 24/06/1986LHB RFM
Jack Brooks (loan from Somerset)Oxford, 04/06/1984RHB RMF
Matthew CarterLincoln, 26/05/1996RHB OB
Joe ClarkeShrewsbury, 26/05/1996RHB WK
Ben DuckettFarnborough, 17/10/1994LHB WK
Luke FletcherNottingham, 18/09/1988RHB RMF
Alex HalesHillingdon, 03/01/1989RHB RM
Haseeb Hameed (One-Day Cup captain)Bolton, 17/01/1997RHB LB
Calvin HarrisonDurban, SA, 29/04/1998RHB LBG
James HayesHaywards Heath, 27/06/2001RHB RM
Brett HuttonDoncaster, 06/02/1993RHB RM
Lyndon JamesWorksop, 27/12/1998RHB RMF
Sam KingNottingham, 12/01/2003RHB RM
Tom LotenYork, 08/01/1999RHB RMF
Conor McKerr (loan from Surrey)South Africa, 19/01/1998RHB RF
Ben MartindaleNottingham, 12/12/2002LHB RM
Matthew MontgomeryJohannesburg, SA, 10/05/2000RHB OB
Tom MooresBrighton, 04/09/1996LHB WK
Steven Mullaney (Championship/T20 captain)Warrington, 19/11/1986RHB RM
Samit PatelLeicester, 30/11/1984RHB SLA
Dane Paterson (Overseas)Cape Town, SA, 04/04/1989RHB RFM
Liam Patterson-WhiteSunderland, 08/11/1998LHB SLA
Toby PettmanKingston upon Thames, 11/05/1998RHB RM
Dane SchadendorfZimbabwe, 31/07/2002RHB WK
Fateh SinghNottingham, 20/04/2004LHB OB
Ben SlaterChesterfield, 26/09/1991LHB
Olly StoneNorwich, 09/10/1993RHB RFM