The Indian Premier League (IPL) is one of the world’s most lucrative cricket tournaments, and the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) is one of the most popular franchises in the league. KKR is owned by Bollywood superstar Shah Rukh Khan, who purchased the team for a whopping $75.09 million in 2008. Since then, KKR has become a billion-dollar franchise, thanks to its consistent success on the field and its innovative marketing strategies.

History of the Kolkata Knight Riders

KKR played a key role as one of the eight founding teams in establishing the IPL in 2008. Shah Rukh Khan and his co-owners, actress Juhi Chawla and her spouse Jay Mehta, purchased the team for a record-breaking price. The team’s name and logo represent the culture of Kolkata, the city where the team is based.

The Kolkata Knight Riders
Co-owner of KKR the King Shah Rukh Khan

KKR’s Success on the Field

KKR has had a successful run on the field, winning two IPL championships in 2012 and 2014. The team has also finished as runners-up twice and made it to the playoffs several times. The team’s success can be attributed to its balanced squad of experienced international players and young Indian talent.

IPL 2014 champions KKR

Theme Song & Logo

The theme song of Kolkata Knight Riders, “Korbo Lorbo Jeetbo Re,” was penned by the music duo Vishal-Shekhar, which resonates with the team’s fighting spirit.

The team’s logo, a helmet, is designed in black and gold colors to represent the team’s determination to overcome the challenges of life, and the black color symbolizes the spirit of Maa Kaali, who is known as the destroyer of evil.

The Kolkata Knight Riders’ jersey has been designed by Manish Malhotra.

KKR’s IPL 2023 Squad

Shreyas Iyer (Ruled Out)Batter12.25 crore
Nitish Rana (c)Batter8 crore
Venkatesh IyerAll-Rounder8 Crore
Andre RussellAll-Rounder12 Crore
Sunil NarineAll-Rounder6 Crore
Umesh YadavBowler2 crore
Tim SoutheeBowler1.5 crore
Harshit RanaBowler20 lakh
Varun ChakravarthyBowler8 Crore
Anukul RoyAll-Rounder20 lakh
Rinku SinghBatter55 lakh
Rahmanullah GurbazBatsman/Wicket-keeper50 lakh
Shardul ThakurBowler10.75 Crore
Lockie FergusonBowler10 Crore
N JagadeesanBatter90 lakh
Vaibhav AroraBowler60 lakh
Suyash SharmaBowler20 lakh
David WieseAll-Rounder1 crore
Kulwant KhejroliyaBowler20 lakh
Litton DasWicket-keeper50 lakh
Mandeep SinghBatter50 lakh
Jason RoyBatter2.8 crore


In conclusion, the Kolkata Knight Riders have had a mixed season so far in IPL 2023. While they started with a loss to Punjab Kings, they bounced back with a resounding win against Royal Challengers Bangalore. The team has a good mix of experienced players and young talent, and they will be looking to build on their recent success and climb up the points table.

Moreover, With players like Venkatesh Iyer, Andre Russell, Nitish Rana, and Varun Chakravarthy in their ranks, KKR has the potential to go all the way and win their third IPL title this season.