In the history of English cricket, the Yorkshire County Cricket Club, which was established in 1863, has an important place. Yorkshire CCC has established a significant legacy throughout the course of its lengthy and storied history as one of England’s oldest and most prosperous cricket clubs. This page seeks to provide a thorough examination of the club, highlighting its noteworthy accomplishments, illustrious players, and long-lasting influence on the sport.

Background information:

The Sheffield Cricket Club, which is where Yorkshire CCC gets its name, was founded in 1827. However, Yorkshire CCC did not become one of the original twelve clubs to create the County Championship until 1863, when it was formally created. Early on, the club was known for its impressive accomplishments and commanding presence in English cricket.

Headingley Cricket Ground is the location:

Yorkshire CCC’s original home is in Leeds at Headingley Cricket Ground. The pitch, which can accommodate over 17,000 spectators, has hosted a number of memorable games and has become as a recognised cricketing location in England. Headingley’s reputation as a cricketing fortress has been cemented by the numerous Test matches, One-Day Internationals, and domestic contests it has hosted.

Important accomplishments:

Yorkshire CCC has a distinguished reputation in English cricket and an exceptional track record of success. The club is the most successful team in the competition’s history, having won the County Championship a remarkable 33 times. Yorkshire’s domination spans several decades, and the county has won championships in numerous decades, including 1893, 1900, 1931, 1968, 2001, and 2014. These accomplishments solidify Yorkshire CCC’s position as a dominant force in English cricket.

Iconic Performers:

Yorkshire CCC has had a number of legendary players over the years who have made a lasting impact on the game. Geoffrey Boycott, a successful opening batsman renowned for his flawless technique and tenacity, is one such name. Boycott’s impressive career, which lasted from 1962 to 1986, produced a number of records and honours. Fred Trueman, Len Hutton, and Brian Close are three more illustrious individuals connected to the club who each contributed significantly to its success.

Supporters of English cricket:

In England’s growth and development of cricket, Yorkshire CCC has been essential. The club has been a haven for extraordinary talent, producing a number of international cricketers who have proudly represented England.

Community Participation:

Yorkshire CCC is firmly committed to interacting with the neighbourhood and advancing cricket among young people. The club provides a number of programmes to develop young talent, offer coaching services, and coordinate neighbourhood events. These initiatives have been crucial in fostering a passion for the sport, motivating younger generations, and ensuring Yorkshire cricket’s continued expansion.

Female Cricket:

Yorkshire CCC has recently given women’s cricket a greater attention. The club has invested a lot in building a good women’s team, competing in domestic events, and developing young players. The Club’s dedication to gender equality in cricket has boosted interest in women’s cricket both locally and internationally.


Yorkshire County Cricket Club’s long history and commitment to the sport have made it a storied institution in English cricket. With a record number of County Championship titles and a track record of developing top players, Yorkshire CCC stands as a testament to the region’s cricketing past. Through its involvement in the community, backing of the national team, and dedication to women’s cricket, Yorkshire CCC continues to have an impact on the development of the game.The club’s enormous influence on English cricket will last for many years as its legendary journey continues.

Yorkshire squad
Yorkshire squad
Yorkshire squad
Jonny BairstowBradford, 26/09/1989RHB WK
Finlay BeanHarrogate, 16/04/2002LHB WK
Dom BessExeter, 22/07/1997RHB OB
Harry BrookKeighley, 22/02/1999RHB RM
Jafer ChohanCamden, 11/07/2002RHB LB
Ben CliffHalifax, 23/10/2002RHB RB
Ben CoadHarrogate, 10/01/1994RHB RFM
Harry DukePinderfields, 06/09/2001RHB WK
Mickey EdwardsSydney, Australia, 23/12/1994RHB RFM
Matthew FisherYork, 09/11/1997RHB RFM
Will FraineHuddersfield, 13/06/1996RHB RM
George HillKeighley, 24/01/2001RHB RMF
Shai Hope (Overseas)Barbados, 10/11/1993RHB WK
Dom LeechMiddlesbrough, 10/01/2001RHB RM
William LuxtonKeighley, 06/05/2003RHB
Adam LythWhitby, 25/09/1987LHB LMF
Dawid MalanRoehampton, 03/09/1987LHB LB
Shan Masood (Overseas, captain)Kuwait, 14/10/1989LHB RMF
Ben MikeNottingham, 24/08/1998RHB RM
Matt MilnesNottingham, 29/07/1994RHB RMF
Adil RashidBradford, 17/02/1988RHB LB
Matthew RevisKeighley, 15/11/2001RHB
Joe RootSheffield, 30/12/1990RHB OB
Saud Shakeel (Overseas)Karachi, 05/09/1995LHB SLA
Jack ShuttBarnsley, 24/06/1997RHB OB
Jonathan TattersallHarrogate, 15/12/1994RHB WK/LB
Jordan ThompsonLeeds, 09/10/1996LHB RM
Yash VagadiaNewcastle-upon-Tyne, 07/05/2004RHB OB
Neil Wagner (Overseas)Pretoria, SA, 13/03/1986LHB LMF
James WhartonHuddersfield, 01/02/2001RHB OB
David Wiese (Overseas, T20)Roodepoort, SA, 18/05/1985RHB RMF